bok choy + mushrooms.

After the holidays I was feeling sluggish from all the creamy, sugary and fattening foods. I realized I needed some simple greens —fast. I made this dish as the complete opposite meal of what I had been eating at holiday meals with family and friend. No meat, no dairy; just some veggies and rice. bok choy

Here it is. Simple from me to you.

Ingredients: (serves 4)

  • 2 stalks bok choy
  • shiitake mushrooms (about 20 or small bag)
  • 1 shallot
  • garlic
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 4 tbsp braggs or GF soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tbsp chopped ginger or paste

Start to boil brown rice on the side (2 parts water 1 part rice). Slice the veggies all up as in the picture. Sauté the garlic and shallots in olive oil for a few minutes. Add chopped up bok choy and mushrooms. Stir and let soften. meanwhile, mix together the soy sauce, vinegar, honey and ginger. Add to the veggies and cover. Let simmer for a few more minutes. Serve veggies over rice with any extra sauce from pan. Enjoy.

