thai-style coconut soup

I love Thai food but I for some reason I always think its too difficult to try to make myself. Well I finally decided to try and conquer Thai coconut soup which I had in a restaurant recently and I must say it wasn’t hard at all– the toughest part was finding lemongrass in the store but as soon as I asked someone I had it in 5  seconds.

If you like the soups in Thai restaurants then this is a MUST try…it is amazing. Seriously…I was so pleasantly surprised at how good it came out and how easy it was. I made mine the vegetarian version but you can certainly adjust to your taste and add chicken if you’d like.

Ingredients

  • 1 quart veggie or chicken stock
  • 3 whole scallions, sliced into rings (or white onion works too)
  • 2 stalks lemongrass, sliced into quarters (or 2 tbsp lemongrass paste) *this is an important ingredient
  • 2 tbsp fresh grated ginger
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 6 oz. fresh shitake mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 large red pepper
  • 1 cans (14 oz) light coconut milk
  • 1 tsp fresh grated lime zest
  • 1/2 cup fresh lime juice
  • 2 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro
  • 1/2 cup bean sprouts (if desired at end)

Recipecoconut soup

Pour the stock in a large soup pot and add the following: lemongrass, scallions, ginger, soy sauce & cayenne pepper. Bring to a boil and then let simmer for about 20 minutes. Then add the sliced mushrooms and red pepper, stir and let simmer for 10 minutes. Add the coconut milk and lime zest.

Slowly increase the heat, stirring constantly, till the soup reaches a slow simmer. Keep the soup at a slow simmer for 15 minutes, stirring often; do not let it boil too briskly.

After 15 minutes, turn off the heat. Stir in the fresh lime juice and chopped cilantro. Remove the lemon grass stalks with a slotted spoon. Taste the soup; add bean sprouts, more cayenne pepper and/or soy sauce to taste.

 

 

