kale + beans. italian style.

Being half italian and having Celiacs disease for over a year now, I have had to do some experimenting with pasta alternatives — even though there are a couple of pretty good GF noodles out there…I find its healthier to eat whole grains.

kale + beans

With this, I’ve also experimented more with the types of sauces I like to make (plus my recent obsession with kale). My new favorite is a red sauce with sautéed kale and white beans over quinoa. YUM!

This dish is packed with protein from the beans and kale. Plus, as I’m sure you’ve heard, quinoa (the super grain) will also give you a super health punch! See my other post on grains to learn more about it.

kale + beans italian style recipe:

Ingredients: (serves 3-4)

  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 onion,
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 can white beans
  • 1 jar of tomatoes (crushed or your favorite blend)
  • 1 cup quinoa

Preparation: total cook time is about 20 minutes.

Sauté garlic and onion in the olive oil. Add salt + pepper. Once the onion softens blend in the kale and sautee until also softened. Add your tomato sauce and shortly there after the beans. Let simmer on a low heat for about 10 minutes until the kale soaks up the sauce. Rinse your quinoa and add to boiling water. Cook until you can see the rings around the grain. When everything is finished cooking put a 1/4 cup of quinoa in a bowl and add the kale + bean sauce on top. Enjoy!

